Arrested for Shoplifting in Charlotte County?
Petty Theft Charges in Florida
Shoplifting is most often charged as petty theft in Florida, if the value of goods involved is $300 or less. This offense may be classified as a first degree or second degree misdemeanor. If the goods taken are worth $300 or more, the defendant will be charged with grand theft, a third degree felony.
Following are the potential penalties for shoplifting in Florida (although these may vary on a case-by-case basis depending on the specific case and the defendant's prior criminal convictions, if any):
- Petty theft (valued at less than $100) - second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in county jail.
- Petty theft (valued at $100 to $300) - first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in county jail.
- Grand theft (valued at more than $300 to less than $5,000) - third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in state prison.
Choose an experienced lawyer to defend your case!
Have you or someone you love been arrested for shoplifting or another theft crime in Florida? Our law firm may be able to help. At Fritsch Law Firm, P.A. we represent defendants in all types of misdemeanor and felony cases, including those involving shoplifting.
With shoplifting charges, this is often our client's first run-in with the law. Embarrassment, frustration, and a slew of other emotions may be associated with a shoplifting arrest or criminal charges. During this difficult time, you can turn to Charlotte County, FL criminal defense lawyer Andrew Fritsch for the protection and help you need. For a free consultation, do not hesitate to call the firm or contact us online. For help in fighting your shoplifting charges, contact Fritsch Law Firm, P.A. today!